Tenerife is an island of the Atlantic Ocean belonging to the Spanish autonomous community of the Canary Islands. Together with La Palma, La Gomera and El Hierro forms the province of Santa Cruz de Tenerife. With an area of ​​2034.38 km² and a population of 904,713 inhabitants (2018) 4 it is the largest island in the Canary archipelago and the most populous in Spain. In addition, Tenerife is also the most extensive and populated island in the Macaronesia region. The city of Santa Cruz de Tenerife is the capital of the island and the homonymous province, as well as its most populous municipality, with 204,856 inhabitants (INE 2018). The city is also the capital of the Autonomous Community of the Canary Islands, sharing that status with Las Palmas de Gran Canaria. Despite this, between 1833 and 1927 Santa Cruz de Tenerife was officially the only capital of the Canary archipelago, until in 1927 a decree ordered that the capital of the Canary Islands be shared, which is how it currently remains. The second municipality by number of inhabitants of the island, and third of the Canary Islands, with 155,549 inhabitants (INE 2018), is San Cristóbal de La Laguna, whose historical center is a World Heritage Site. The metropolitan area of ​​Santa Cruz de Tenerife has a population of over 400,000 inhabitants.